UW radiation oncology chief resident elected to national RFS Executive Committee

Congratulations to Meghan Macomber, MD, Chief Resident in the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Washington, who was elected to the position of Radiation Oncology Representative on the ACR’s Resident and Fellow Section Executive Committee at the ACR Annual Meeting in Washington DC in May 2017. Dr. Macomber says her goals for the coming year are to develop educational resources for distribution through the ACR, to establish a research grant to foster collaboration between our specialties, increase engagement with the ACR Annual Meeting and to promote advocacy at the state and national level.

The ACR’s RFS Executive Committee is a group of elected officers that lead the RFS throughout the year and provide representation for members-in-training on the ACR Council. The RFS EC represents residents and fellows within the ACR and in other specialty organizations, helping to coordinate responses to issues and events that affect trainees. They work on several ongoing projects and develop communications and resources to benefit all trainees. Members of the RFS EC work closely with the leadership of the ACR and represent members-in-training on the ACR Council and Council Steering Committee.

Why I Joined WSRS

Brandon C. Perry, MD UW Radiology Chief Resident WSRS RFS President, 2016-2017 When I first moved to Seattle and began my residency at the University of Washington, I enjoyed working in an academic setting, but was interested in expanding my professional network. The opportunity to interact with radiologists from different backgrounds and experience levels is one reason of many that I decided to join WSRS. WSRS also provides unique leadership opportunities that are not available elsewhere, allowing residents to connect with leaders in the field. In a changing healthcare environment, it is more important than ever for graduating residents and fellows be able to contribute to practice and hospital leadership, practice building, and safety and quality improvement. Involvement in WSRS has helped in development of of these important non-clinical skills.

Since joining WSRS, I have also gained a deeper understanding of issues that affect the present and future of radiology at both state and national levels. WSRS has given me insight into how radiologists can better communicate with legislators, and I have learned a lot about the importance of political advocacy. As the phrase goes, “all politics is local” and by being a member of WSRS we have the ability to create change within our own medical communities and nationwide.

Phil Smith getting award
Virginia Mason Medical Center radiology resident Phil Smith, MD, received a Gold Merit Award for his abstract (co-authored with Paul Sicuro, MD) at the ACR Annual Meeting in DC, May, 2017. VM resident Emily Johnson, MD, also presented an abstract at the meeting. Kudos to all the residents who attended ACR and participated in the RFS program as well as the Day of Advocacy on Capitol Hill!
Four Washington State Radiological Society residents outside Jayapal's office
Teaming up to advocate for patient access to important cancer screenings and funding for the NIH, residents from two radiology training programs in Washington State’s 7th Congressional District met with the legislative director of their Congressional representative, Pramila Jayapal, in Washington DC on May 24, 2017. Left to right: Keegan Hovis, MD, UW; Phil Smith, MD, Virginia Mason; Tom Anderson, MD, PhD, UW; Aaron Daub, MD, UW.


WSRS Residents and Fellows Section Executive Board, 2017-2018

Below is a list of the leaders of the Residents and Fellows Section of the Washington State Radiological Society: Officers

President Anika McGrath Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Vice President Derek Khorsand Email Me Interventional Radiology
Secretary Jing Luo Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Treasurer Aileen Kim Email Me Radiation Oncology
Imm. Past-President Brandon Perry Email Me Interventional Radiology Fellow

Committee Leadership

Awards and Honors Shawn Call Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Budget & Finance Jake Sharp Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Communications/Social Media Keegan Hovis Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Government Relations Joshua Rosenbaum Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Payor Relations Amber Post Email Me Radiation Oncology
Annual Meeting Meghan Macomber Email Me Radiation Oncology
PAC (political action committee) Alan Leung Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Membership (Mentoring) Khang Dinh Email Me Radiation Oncology
Bylaws Tom Anderson Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Women and Diversity Preethi Raghu
Jaqueline Alvarez
Tina Coleman
Email Me
Email Me
Email Me
Diagnostic Radiology
Diagnostic Radiology
Diagnostic Radiology
Historical/Archive Allison Tillack Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Radiation Oncology Representative Meghan Macomber Email Me Radiation Oncology
(*ACR RFS Executive Committee Radiation Oncology Representative)
Madigan Representative Bryan Kantner Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Sacred Heart Representative Bradley Griffiths Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
UW Representative Keegan Hovis Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Virginia Mason Representative Carolyn Clark Email Me Diagnostic Radiology
Fellow Representative Brandon Perry Email Me Interventional Radiology Fellow

Washington State Radiological Residencies

Sacred Heart Hospital
Spokane, Washington
Director: Dr. Justin Fredrick
101 W. 8th Ave.
PO Box 2555
Spokane, WA 99220 Email Dr. Murray Administrative Assistant: Sherry Bucholz
Phone: (509) 455-3021
FAX: (509) 458-5316

University of Washington Seattle, Washington www.rad.washington.edu
Director: Dr. Angelisa Paladin
U/W Dept of Radiology
Box 357115
Seattle, WA 98195-7115
University of Washington
1959 NE Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195
Administrative Assistant: Amanda Easton
Phone: (206) 598-6483

US Army Madigan Medical Center
Tacoma, Washington
Director: Dr. Charles Kitley
Madigan Army Medical Ctr
Attn.: MCHJ-R
Tacoma, WA 98431
Administrative Assistant: Teresa Tucker
Phone: (253) 968-2130
FAX: (253) 968-3140

Virginia Mason Hospital 
Seattle, Washington
Director: Dr. Lucy Glenn
VMMC Dept of Radiology
1100 9th Ave.
Seattle, WA 98111
Administrative Assistant: Richard Lee
Phone: (206) 223-6851
FAX: (206) 344-7959

Click here to visit the ACR Residents and Fellows Section